Click Here for Mobile Version

Pennsylvania Dutch Country Visitors Center       501 Greenfield Road, Lancaster, PA 17601       717-299-8901       www.padutchcountry.com

Itinerary Ideas

Covered Bridges of Parks & Preserves

 

Day 1 

Tanger Outlet Center 
For great deals and discounts on designer merchandise, this is the perfect place to spend a few hours looking around for gifts for loved ones or even a treat for yourself.

Willow Hill Covered Bridge 
Willow Hill Covered Bridge is one of the youngest covered bridges in Lancaster County, built in 1962 from material that was salvaged from other farms' bridges.

Amish Farm and House
Experience Lancaster's Living Heritage at America's first Amish attraction! Come explore where today touches history at the Amish Farm & House and learn about the unique culture of Lancaster County's Old Order Amish.

Rockvale Outlets Lancaster
This is another great spot for discount shopping on name-brand items, is just ahead along the right-hand side of Rt. 30. Here, you'll surely find a store for every need.

Rainbow Dinner Theatre
"America's Only All-Comedy Dinner Theater" provides food for the body and laughter for the soul! An outstanding all-you-can-eat buffet combined with a top-notch broadway comedy will keep you coming back for more.

Day 2

 

Eshleman's Mill Covered Bridge 
It was originally built in 1845, rebuilt in 1893, and is sometimes referred to as Paradise Bridge.

Herr's Mill Covered Bridge
Also known as the Soudersburg Bridge, was built in 1844. At 178 feet in length, this bridge in one of the few double-span, double arch covered bridges left in the United States. Unfortunately, like Willow Hill Covered Bridge, it is not a bridge able to be driven.

Neff's Mill Covered Bridge 
This bridge was originally built in 1824, but later rebuilt in 1875. With an 11-foot opening, it is the county's narrowest covered bridge. In the winter of 2001, the mill was torn down and the stones were used to make a fence on the residing property.

Day 3

Lime Valley Covered Bridge 
Built in 1871, it was originally known as Huntzinger's Mill Bridge. It is also known as a twin bridge to an earlier one built in 1857, just 200 feet west of the existing covered bridge.

Colemanville Covered Bridge
It was originally built in 1856 and partially rebuilt in 1938 and 1973 because of flood damages. Because of the severe flooding in Lancaster, the county completely rebuilt the bridge in 1992, several feet west of its original site, as well as six feet higher to avoid more weather-related damages. At 170 feet in span, Colemanville Covered Bridge is Lancaster County's second longest single-span bridge still in use.

Baumgardener's Covered Bridge
Because of it's hidden location, this bridge receives fewer visitors than most covered bridges in Lancaster. Like Colemanville Covered Bridge, Baumgardener's was also rebuilt by the county in 1987 because of damages resulting from flooding in 1986. When it was rebuilt, the bridge was raised 4 feet and lengthened 9 feet.

Kurtz's Mill Covered Bridge 
Built in 1876, it was originally known as Isaac Bean's Mill Bridge and built over the Conestoga River. Unfortunately, Hurricane Agnes destroyed the bridge in 1972, so it was relocated and rebuilt in Lancaster County Central Park.