Click Here for Mobile Version

Pennsylvania Dutch Country Visitors Center       501 Greenfield Road, Lancaster, PA 17601       717-299-8901       www.padutchcountry.com

Things to Do

Lititz and Its Countryside Trail

Charming north central Lancaster County and the town of Lititz

Gather some travel tips at the PA Dutch Visitors Center and then depart for a journey to four historic covered bridges, meandering through Lititz and the surrounding area. You'll finish up in the town of Lititz itself for a delicious lunch, gallery strolling and lots of sweet and salty treats!

Download printer-friendly trail guide and directions(55 KB pdf)


Turn left out of the Visitors Center parking lot.
 
At the light, turn right onto Greenfield Rd. and proceed for 0.9 miles. 
 
Turn left onto Willow Rd. and proceed for 1.5 miles.
 
Turn right onto highway 23/New Holland Pk. and proceed for 0.8 miles.
 
Turn left onto Mondale Rd. and proceed for 0.3 miles.
 
Turn left onto Hunsecker Rd. and proceed for 0.2 miles.

Covered Bridge: Hunsecker's Mill Covered Bridge, built in 1848, is the longest single-span covered bridge in the County at 180 feet. It was rebuilt in 1973 after rising waters from Hurricane Agnes lifted it from the abutments and carried it downstream.
 
Proceed on Hunsecker Rd. for 0.6 miles.
 
Turn right onto Butter Rd. and proceed for 1.2 miles.
 
Turn right on Bridge Rd. at the one lane bridge sign.

Covered Bridge: Built in 1867, the Pinetown Covered Bridge was washed off its base by the flood waters of Hurricane Agnus in 1972. The following spring, nearby Amish workers rebuilt the bridge, raising it to 17.5 feet above the average water lever to avoid future damage.
 
Turn around and re-trace Bridge Rd. to Butter Rd.
 
Turn right onto Butter Rd. and proceed for 0.3 miles.
 
Turn right onto highway 272 and proceed for 1.4 miles.
 
Turn left onto Rose Hill Rd. and proceed for 0.5 miles.
 
Turn left onto Log Cabin Rd. and proceed to covered bridge.

Covered Bridge: Also known as Wenger's Mill Bridge, Zook's Mill Covered Bridge was built in 1849. During the flooding of Hurricane Agnus, the water rose 6 ½ feet above the bridge floor, but did not damage the bridge itself. The bridge sits 11 feet above the creek. 
 
Proceed on Log Cabin Rd. for 1 mile.
 
Turn right onto Church Rd. and proceed for 1.1 miles.
 
Turn right onto highway 772/Newport Rd. and proceed for 0.1 mile.
 
Turn left onto Picnic Woods Rd., which will turn into Erbs Bridge Rd., and proceed for 1.3 miles.

Covered Bridge: Erb's Mill Covered Bridge was built in 1849, during the time period when thousands of people were rushing to find gold in the California Hills. The bridge was later rebuilt in 1887.
 
Turn around and proceed on Erb's Bridge Rd. for 0.4 miles.
 
Turn right onto Millway Rd. and proceed for 1.4 miles.
 
Turn right onto Newport Rd. and proceed for 0.1 miles.
 
Turn left onto Clay Rd. and proceed for 0.8 miles.
 
Turn right onto Lititz Run Rd. and proceed for 0.5 miles.
 
Turn right onto highway 772/Main St. and follow into the town of Lititz.

Town: Lititz
Sturgis Pretzels
Stroll around the charming town of Lititz and explore its rich culture, unique shops and boutiques. Stop and savor the sweets at Café Chocolate of Lititz, which features a variety of soups, salads,  sandwiches, specialty drinks and-of course-chocolates. That's just the
Wilber Chocolate
  beginning of sweet-and-salty attractions in this Foodie Town. Visit Wilbur Chocolate Factory Store to learn the history of this favorite local confection, or Julius Sturgis Pretzel Bakery for a hands-on pretzel twisting history lesson. Lots of samples and goodies to take home at both!

Although it's not part of the driving tour, you'll find Landis Mill Covered Bridge several miles south of Lititz near the Park City Mall.


Download printer-friendly trail guide and directions. (162 KB pdf)


You May Like...